• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Changing Career from Legal to Quant?

Hi everybody,

I have been contemplating a switch from the legal field to finance. I graduated undergrad with as a math major in 2003 (hi ranked school, 3.8 GPA), went straight to law school (3.3 GPA) and then worked at a large NYC firm (vault top 20) for 3 years. While I was in the litigation department, I had exposure to several Inv. Banks and wrote a few legal compliance opinions for hedge funds. The legal market in NY is aweful the majority of the work I've encountered so far has been disappointing. I think I would enjoy a job in the financial sector, and it appears that there are significantly more job openings as well (albeit still far below '05-'07 numbers, but MUCH better than law in Manhattan).

I've been curious about my chances for being accepted to either the Columbia MAFN or MSFE programs. If I can get a high GRE score, would I make a good candidate? I chose these two programs based on location and the fact that they are only 1 year degrees (a two year program isn't really feasible for me at this point money and time-wise). Also, I would probably be graduating as a 32 year old. Is this too late in the game to begin a new career in this field?