• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Columbia MFE Columbia MFE: is it worth it?

Hi everyone,

I am an European student and have been admitted to Columbia MFE. I am waiting to hear from NYU but now I am facing the issue of deciding whether going to the US (Columbia or NYU) is worth the price. The tuition fees are non neglectable and life is pricey in NYC. And what about jobs? Considering the pending situation, I am not 100% sure to find a nice job in trading/quant desks right after the end of the program.

I really need some advice here. Can you tell me about the jobs? The quality of this program, outside the reviews on quantnet? The salaries? The opportunities in NYC?

Thanks a lot.

As a side note, for students desperatly waiting to hear from Columbia MFE, I was invited to interviews round only last thursday, did the interview on Monday and received the decision the same day. Don't lose hope.

Hi everyone,

I am an European student and have been admitted to Columbia MFE. I am waiting to hear from NYU but now I am facing the issue of deciding whether going to the US (Columbia or NYU) is worth the price. The tuition fees are non neglectable and life is pricey in NYC. And what about jobs? Considering the pending situation, I am not 100% sure to find a nice job in trading/quant desks right after the end of the program.