• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

CS or econ??

I'm an undergrad right now. If I want to apply to MFE program and hopefully be a trader in the future, do you guys think I should chose computer science minor or econ major (in addition to my math major)?
I think CS would be helpful for applications of MFE but that econ knowledge might be more useful for being a trader... Is my intuition correct?

Keep the basic understanding of micro/macro econ and toss out all the calculus and lagrange multiplier optimization problems. Perhaps understanding econometrics/time-series and game theory can help. Take a basic finance course. Minoring in CS should allow you to do this.

Yes and no. But I advocate CS

The current trend in the market is market automation. Although DominiConnor once pointed out that finance is now saturated with developers, the major as a whole will continue to see demand (and with more career options) because to 1) people don't like studying hard math/programming, and 2) people don't like studying hard math/programming. Given the rise in competition, however, you need to be very good and very thorough.