• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Education Advice

Hi, I'm a portuguese student and I've applied to a Master in Finance. I'm considering some optional courses at the moment and it would be great if you could give me some advice.

I have a bachelor in economics, in which, among others I've completed:

Math 1:
Real functions of n real variables:
1 - Graph of a function;
2 - Limits and continuity;
3 - Differentiation: partial differentiation, differentiability, approximation of functions, derivative of composite functions;
4 - Homogeneous functions;
5 - Implicit functions;
6 - Free and constrained optimization.

Math 2: Algebra and Integrals

Statistics 1 and 2

Econometrics:
0. INTRODUCTION: subject and methodology of Econometrics
1. THE LINEAR REGRESSION MODEL: elementary concepts and notation; least squares (OLS) estimators of the regression coefficients; coefficient of determination; assumptions of the classical model of linear regression; properties of the OLS estimators; the estimator of the variance of the disturbances
2. EXTENSIONS OF THE LINEAR REGRESSION MODEL: choosing a functional form; dummy variables; models for the trend and seasonal components