• TIME TO 2024 UK RANKINGS

• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Future and Opportunity of Investment Banking

RayRichardMurphy

Finance Stud[ent]
Hello, My name is Ray Murphy. I'm a sophomore student at Emory University in Atlanta, working towards a major in Finance and International Business (typically a secondary major) and a minor in Statistics (if I can finish - I'm not so sure).
I was hoping to go into the Investment Banking. Many of my ex-Senior friends from last year and 2- years ago were swallowed up by various eager banks upon graduation. Their employers were mostly Bear, Wachovia, Suntrust, JP Morgan, Goldman, etc - with a few more other regional employers such as Coca-Cola, record companies, etc. Those who went to Wall Street, and even those who went to Suntrust, Wachovia, etc. all got sweet jobs - mostly as analysts. Some of 2nd years claimed to be well north of $150K - with no end in sight. Needless to say, many of them got laid off. To tell you the truth, I have lost contact with most of them (abandoned FaceBooks, emails unreturned, phone numbers have become "this phone number does not exist...") Those who kept their jobs complain of being totally ragged out, of a horrible CYA work environment, and are not so assured of their "no-end-in-sight" salaries anymore. In fact they seem to have adopted more of an "I hope I keep this salary" type of attitude.