• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Getting a quant role with bsc in economics and msc in finance and accounting

Do you think my background will be good enough to switch to career in quantitative finance?

• Yes

• No

Results are only viewable after voting.
Good morning everyone,

I am writing with a question regarding my background and wheather it is sufficient to break into a quantitative analyst/risk analyst role.

My background is the following:

Currently I am working in corporate finance role at F500 company in Europe, but I would like switch my career more into quantiatative finance role/risk analysis.

I hold a bsc degree in Economics from decent regional university in Europe where I studied some possibly relevant courses like mathematics, econometrics, micro/macroeconomics.

Later I graduated from well ranked European business school with master's in Finance and Accounting (with specialization track in finanacial markets and a master thesis in department of quantitative economics regarding risk in financial markets)
So despite my generalist finance degree I did some courses in financial markets, derivatives and financial engineering, although less than in a specialized MFE degree.

I do like programming in R and I've done a lot of courses online (ex DataCamp specializations) so I would say I have some intermediate coding skills (I've also built my own blog with R econometric analyses)