Help with path to MFE, pre-MFE at Baruch

STH

I'm not sure if I'm supposed to be super formal here since this is a forum site but I need some help and advice.

I'm an undergraduate with an accounting degree, and I recently graduated. However, I really don't know if that was the best choice, and changed my focus to obtaining an MFE. However, there's a few problems with this. For one, an undergraduate degree in accounting doesn't have a lot of math classes or math foundation behind it, and I don't want to spend another 4 years in college chasing after that.

The MFE at Baruch has a bunch of pre-requisites which involve
  • Calculus (two semesters)
  • Probability (one semester)
  • Linear Algebra (one semester)
  • C++ (one semester or certificate)
  • Finance (one semester, or relevant work experience)
Now some of these I already satisfy, like Finance and Linear Algebra, but not the rest, especially calculus. So, I saw the Pre-MFE course that was offered at Baruch and tried to apply to that to satisfy them, but the Pre-MFE program has it's own pre-requisites, requiring me to take previous math classes. I don't have a problem with this per say, but it would take such a long amount of time that I don't think I'd be able to apply for the final MFE program deadline on April.

Please give me some advice. What should I do? I'm currently trying to dig myself out of a hole but feel that I have no way out without help. I'm willing to put in the time and effort and push myself harder than I have before, but I need the opportunity. I don't want to waste too much time going to classes again and want to accelerate the process somehow. Does anyone have any suggestions? Please help me.

Last edited:
You just discover MFE degree and it appears you are missing a few requirements. Most people here will leave about a year or more to prepare.
You can take the calculus courses at your local community college and take the C++ course here.