• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Importance of GPA for applicants with good work experience

Hello everybody.
I graduated with a Bach in Elect Eng 10 years ago with a low GPA (but top grades in programming). Since then, I worked for 4 years in programming (C++/Java), got an MBA (top 20 school, GPA 3.5, A on all Finance and Prob/Stat courses) and worked in investment banking bulge bracket in NY (Corp fin advisory (mainly ECM and M&A), for 2 years) and private equity in the Middle-East (2 years).
I am considering applying for MSFE, 2011 class.
Would the top schools disregard or put less weight on my undergrad GPA given my experience? Would the MBA gpa weight more?
Thank you.

I am curious why you want to do a MFE. It seems like you have great work experience and would be able to get a job somewhere.

Generally they look at your most recent GPA so for you that would mean your MBA. But a MFE is very math intensive and since you have not taken any math in a long time and when you did you did poorly, this would not work in your favor.

I think you could probably get into some program somewhere but I don't think your experience is enough to get you into a top program on its own. I think the best thing to do to strengthen your chances would be to take some courses in math and programming (more math though).

Connor,
Thank you for your reply.