• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Is an MFE worth it if I'm a Senior Engineer at FAANG?

Hi all,
I'm currently a Senior Research Engineer at a FAANG company (IC5 on track for IC6) pulling in close to $450k+ working in DL/ML/AI research. I used to be finance, and even got admitted to Baruch's MFE back in 2014 before I made the switch to mega-cap tech to work on self-driving and more recently on VR tech. Now I'm looking to move back to finance, and thinking about going back for an MFE because: mostly I like trading, and I like math.
The real question is: Is it worth switching at this stage in my career? How much value would a trading firm put on the engineering/ML experience combined with the MFE. I was planning on a part-time MFE (while working) till the last semester, and then taking a few months off before switching to a trading firm but I'm worried that I'd be walking away from a ton of lost earnings and would end up starting back from square 1 (>50% comp cut) in terms of earnings.

Is there an equivalent to: levels.fyi for quants?

if you're interested in research based roles, i'd suggest start applying to firms. the hedge fund i work at regularly interviews people like you, and i'm pretty sure there are many others like that. i've seen people not being asked any finance questions as long as their background and skillset in ml/math/stats/cs is top notch.