• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

My Application Experience...

Well, I have been sneaking around these boards for some time without making a post. I figured now that my search is done, It may be a good idea to outline my experience for future students in search of quantdom.

First of all, I am an undergraduate finance major at a State University (3.65 GPA) and have no full time work experience (although solid internship experience). I took the GMAT twice and scored a 590 on the first try and 690 (Q47/V39) on the second try (Yes it is possible!). Did not have a particularly quantitative background until second semester of Junior year (Yikes!). And it has been my dream to work in trading since I was in high school. I am an American born and raised.

I applied to IIT, UNC Charlotte, University of Illinois MSF, and University of Illinois Fin Eng. (You may be saying “What a lame list, where is MIT and U Chicago?” but I had to apply to programs I thought I had a chance of getting into and that appealed to my background) So far I have been accepted to all but havn’t heard back from Illinois Fin. Eng.
I have decided on University of Illinois MSF. Why?

1. Received a 6k scholarship
2. My wife only wanted me to take the shortest program possible (only 1 yr)