• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Need Advice On Recording Lecture Videos

Confession: I always relied on my TAs to do this for me in the past.

I'm a reasonably tech-savvy professor. Now I want to record a Powerpoint presentation-based lecture on my laptop, possibly using other applications (e.g. MS Excel), save the recording, and possibly make it available on YouTube.

I know there are lots of choices, like QuickTime, Zoom, WebEx, GoToMeeting, Sakai, Blackboard, etc. I've checked them out and watched some online stuff, but the best (simplest) way to do this is not clear.

Recommendations? Good training video?
Thanks

I used and still use Camstudio (AFAIR it costs 40 bucks). It's very easy to use. I usually start PP and Visual Studio and Camstudio records everything I do on the screen.

These days I have my better half to do copy editing and stuff like that. I have learned:

1. don't use headphones
2. don't use a squeaky svivvelly chair
3. use a silent keyboard
4. Camstudio session of 30 minutes is ideal for ALL involved
5. no slurply tea-drinking
6. avoid er-uh-pause-ah-oh-er-agh noises (difficult), keep a good flow.
7. Avoid heavy breathing by controlling oxygen intake.
(8. in my case no recording when Junior (metal drummer) is in the house :D)

If you have any queries give me a shout. Good luck!

@APalley

Last edited:

Hands down simplest and free. I use it all the time.