• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

COMPARE NYU MathFin or Columbia MFE

I have cut down my choices to these two which I can hardly decide. The deadline of Columbia is coming so I want some advice from the forum.

I am currently a math undergrad and want to go for a quant or asset management job in US after the graduate study.

I have read some threads saying that NYU is much better than Columbia but I think Columbia has its own strength. Here is my concern:

NYU's program is under math dept and I am really love math so that is the thing that attracts me to apply. I know NYU's career service is very strong that most of its students can find a job in US. However, its reputation outside US is not as good as Columbia. I want to go back to China after a few years working in US so I am not sure whether it matters.

Columbia first has very good reputation. Students of FE program can take courses from its B-school which is very strong. However, there are two many students in that program and I heard that some competitive programs such as MSOR and MathFin are pretty much the same that students from these programs can take same courses.

Really wanna hear some advice.

Thanks.

I have cut down my choices to these two which I can hardly decide. The deadline of Columbia is coming so I want some advice from the forum.

I am currently a math undergrad and want to go for a quant or asset management job in US after the graduate study.