• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Part time internship while pursuing MFE?

Is it a wise idea to do a part-time internship during the academic terms, as I take 3~4 courses simultaneously?

My background is in electrical engineering, and therefore I feel the need in acquiring experiences via quantitative internships to make myself competitive when I look for a fulltime.

Also, what are some good ways in securing a part-time internship?

Thank you.

Thanks for the input, Andy.
I'm a permanent resident, so I fortunately have a much easier time with the visa policies.
But I do understand that it may be burdensome.

In undergraduate (ECE), I've always taken +20 credits/semester, and as much as 26 credits/semester, and managed a good grade, so I thought I might able to handle 12 credits and ~10 hours/week of part-time internship. But then, even if I were to do that, you make a legit point that it wouldn't be as effective as if I were to purely focus on one task.

My main concern is that I am coming directly from undergrad with no experience in finance. Further, Columbia MAFN seems to have poor career support, and thus I feel I should start building my resume and experiences early to give me better fulltime opportunities.

I guess this post is from a couple weeks ago, but I'll just chime in.