• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Preparation for Stochastics Calculus Interview?

thanks, that's good to hear. I only have a phd in pure maths, so that was a real long shot. He was very rude actually, and said: any mathematician should know such and such, and asked me to send him my papers to prove I was a real mathematician. I thought that was insulting, and found out he is a physicist by trade! I would never dare to diss someone from a different discipline, I thought everyone has respect for one another.

However, it seems, this industry has little mercy for people who did not do financial maths.

Many years. The interviewer was either an imbecile and/or should have exclusively been interviewing people with PhDs in stochastic calculus. The MFE is not designed to engender this kind of in-depth stochastic expertise (it's also an open question to me about how applicable this stochastic calculus is in the world of finance).

Well, thing is, Once_Set does have a PHD in Pure Math so that's why the recruiters are expecting more than just the average MFE knowledge.

Well, thing is, Once_Set does have a PHD in Pure Math so that's why the recruiters are expecting more than just the average MFE knowledge.

Maybe not in stochastic. An algebraist or topologist or geometer won't know anything about stochastic. Presumably Once-Set indicated not only his PhD but also his area of expertise in his resume.