• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Pursuing finance advice

Hello,

I am in the early stages of career redirection, and I could really use some help. I hold a Bachelor's in Electrical Engineering (obtained in June of this year) and about six months before my graduation concluded that engineering was not for me.

First of all, other than a freshman course in microeconomics, I have zero experience relating to finance. I was drawn to it by the testimonials of the many friends I have in the business, and the intrinsic and extrinsic rewards that far outclass those found in a career in engineering. I have continued interest because, in my very recent experience trading, I get an excitement and satisfaction out of it that most closely resembles my experience playing poker for several years.

I have recently started trading on vse, and for right now have been investing based on value and financials and my knowledge of the tech sector. I am setting up a system for more quantlike analysis which I will experiment with soon and will start a portfolio taking those positions when I see some progress.