• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Quick question about "Risk Management"!

Hello, undergrad kid here!

My major is a Statistics and I'm planning to apply to the MFE program.
Lately, I got an interest in terms of what the role of 'Risk Management' is in finance companies.
So, I'm just looking for people who can advise me about that...

let me ask you a couple of questions!
  1. Are there differences between Risk management and Quantitative risk analyst?
  2. Is MFE degree enough for the Risk management? Or would I need a Ph.D.? I'm wondering if Ph.D. would be a waste of my time.
  3. Is the work still growing up? I mean I'm just wondering whether Risk management is still a good job, or is in danger of disappearing by AI.
  4. Which software should I get used to for Risk management? I want to know the software used in the real situation.

Thank you for your time!

Hello, undergrad kid here!

My major is a Statistics and I'm planning to apply to the MFE program.
Lately, I got an interest in terms of what the role of 'Risk Management' is in finance companies.
So, I'm just looking for people who can advise me about that...

let me ask you a couple of questions!
  1. Are there differences between Risk management and Quantitative risk analyst?
  2. Is MFE degree enough for the Risk management? Or would I need a Ph.D.? I'm wondering if Ph.D. would be a waste of my time.