• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Seeking for advice please help:)

Hi,

I am a current student pursuing my Masters of Accounting degree at Fordham University and expecting to graduate this December. I graduated with B.B.A double major in Finance and Marketing back in 2013 from the University of Iowa. My gpa are not that great, around 3.3-3.4. My goal is to get into Investment Banking programs but my background is apparently not strong enough, not to say I also have visa sponsorship problem. So I came up with an idea to pursue for another master’s degree (preferably in NYC since this is where I live right now.) I’ve been looking into Columbia’s Masters of Financial Engineering, Masters of Operations Research, NYU mathematical Finance and CMU computational Finance. I know these programs are solid and hard to get into so I want to get myself prepared. I thought it might be helpful to have some math/programing class before I apply for masters program. I then looked into the certificate degree Columbia University offers, Certificate in Quantitative Finance and Online Columbia Video Networking (Financial engineering or operations research or applied math). I really need advice on this since I’m sort of lost. Thanks in advance!

Best,
M