• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Should I start my career in a small hedge fund?

Hi all,

I would like to have some professional career advice as I am worrying I do a wrong choice for my career path.

I am a PhD student in computer science in machine learning field in NTU, one of universities in Singapore. I am expected to submit my thesis mid of next year. I have been studying CQF and left one final project to receive the certificate.

Few months ago, I have met a hedge fund manager in networking and manage to have him to be my mentor for my career path in hedge fund. I am currently working as a part time intern in his company. He is a hedge fund manager with S$20 million AUM and 10+% annual return. The office he is working now is a branch office in Singapore started last year from his head quarter which is at the other country and have ~S$200 million AUM. He have told me that he is currently have 2 other quantitative researcher and he will only be hiring 3 quantitative researchers in total in future.

During the discussion regarding my career opportunity in his company, he has mentioned that if I keep performing as now, I am able to be one of his quantitative researcher. However, the starting salary which his company can afford is S$60000 a year with 10% increment a year. He have mentioned that working in his company can have faster career progression and higher bonuses.