• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Some questions on admissions

Hi,

Well this is my first post on quantnet & here goes.

I am a final year student of bachelors of engineering in electronics & telecommunication from pune university in India. My Gmat date is on Oct 1,2010. I have 0 years of work experience & my gpa is just above 3.5 according to a gpa calculator that i used on one of the prestigious US universities site to convert my percentage scores to a 4 point gpa. I want to pursue MFE/Mfin/MS in finance course in US universities.

I was always interested in finance,programming & economics from the beginning but decided to go for engineering as its a 4 year course in India rather than a 3 year course(like those for economics,commerce & finance).

But engineering has helped me achieve some mastery in the following programming field.The languages known by me are

1) C & C++
2) Matlab

Also we have studied 3 math intensive subjects known as Engineering Mathematics I, II & III which included the following

1) Advanced Calculus
2) Differential equations
3) Matrices
4) Probability
*(these subjects also studied in year 11 & 12 of school)*

Also most of our subjects in engineering do involve some form of calculus and/or differential equations.

My final year project is on secure banking system using biometrics & secure gsm banking