• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Study an MFE in my forties?

Hello guys,

If I were to study an MFE, I would do it in 2 or 3 years. That means I would be graduating from it at 40 or 41 years old.

Could I do a good and decent career in my forties and fifties?

Will the success be higher than 50%?

I'm worried that it won't.

I hope I can receive some feedback about this.

Thanks and Regards

Hola Paul!

I studied economics in Peru. I have some years of experience in algorithmic trading.

What else do you think I should tell you?

Thanks and Regards,

Hola Paul!

I studied economics in Peru. I have some years of experience in algorithmic trading.

What else do you think I should tell you?

Thanks and Regards,

I'd take a look at an undergraduate math major's course load and see how much you think you know. The more math you have under your belt the better for when you apply to an MFE program. Depending on how theoretical the econ was that you studied, you could have most of the math already.

Calculus, Linear Algebra, Differential Equations, Probability and Statistics are all very common topics that come up!

Great to know that, Paul!

However, you're saying that it's enough a good math background to get decent jobs in the US financial industry even though I will start at my forties? Is that what you mean?

Great to know that, Paul!