• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Suggestions for obtaining a summer internship?

Hey guys!
I'm already starting to think about my next summer internship...
So for those of you who don't remember me, I'm currently a senior in high school. I was an intern developer last summer for a commodity information firm, and now am an intern (ugh... Operations :/ ) at Morgan Stanley... Smith Barney.

I'm in the DC area, and I want to go up a notch, even if that means that the internship is unpaid (as opposed to my previous internships.)

I know there are quite a few hedge funds in DC (Carlyle Group, as an example) but how would you recommend for me to even attempt to garner an internship at such a firm? Just cold-call? Should I even bother trying? Or perhaps I should try a different type of firm...

Thoughts? I'd greatly appreciate it!

You are too many years removed from college graduation for this to really matter. Any quant internship worth having on your resume in 4 years isn't going to employ a high schooler. Enjoy your post-graduation summer and prepare yourself for your college program...

A clarificication - I don't necessarily want a quant internship... my long term goal is asset managment.

I don't think cold-calling is going to help you when you are so young. After a few years of university maybe.

Possibility of getting another internship at Morgan Stanley?