• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

switch to quant role possible after 4 years in software development

Hi, I am a software programmer based in India. I have 4 years experience as a programmer after doing Btech and masters from IIT in computer science. My thesis was in algorithms..had a publication..have knowledge of machine learning, data mining, etc and have used them a little in industry. No finance experience and since my focus area has so far been towards systems and algorithms, even applied maths may also be a worry(Ex: comfortable with techniques useful in data mining like stats, linear algebra, optimisations; not so much with PDEs , stochastic calculus). I have always been interested in mathematical modelling related job and am confident that studying on weekends and evenings during weekdays for 12 months should take care of knowledge I would gain in an MFE program