• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Various Questions

I am a student of mathematics at a second tier public university. I have a 3.7 gpa - it would be higher but I have taken a variety of graduate math courses in analysis, algebra, and topology (I will take an advanced probability course next semester). I am very good at problem solving but I am not really sure if I want to pursue a phd in math. I am thinking of possibly applying to good MFE programs. You can assume I will get an 800 on quant score on GRE. I will also have a high score on the math GRE (I will still apply to some phd math programs so I am taking it anyways). I do not have much programming experience outside of some basic java courses, but my parents are both software engineers so learning C++ under their guidance will not be hard. I have not actually taken any finance or economics courses however...

What is the chance of me getting into a top program like Columbias MSFE? (what are other top programs) What can I do to increase my chances? Do these MSFE programs value math above anything else when looking at applications? I know courses in very abstract math like algebra or topology have almost no applications in FE but they still train you to think.