• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Am I Qualified?

Hi Guys,

First post on QuantNet. I am a third year undergrad at the University of Michigan with an expected 3.7 GPA in my relevant Econ/Financial Math courses. I interned at bulge bracket FX sales and trading last summer, and this summer I plan on working at a small quant shop/hedge fund. I will have strong recommendations from the senior foreign exchange researcher at my bulge bracket internship and a high-frequency automated trading researcher at UofM with whom I worked last semester (he is also the head of the Computer Science's graduate admissions). I also own and operate a macro trading blog.

I intend on applying to Berkley, UCLA, UChicago, NYU, Columbia, etc., but I am nervous about the admissions process. I am very set on starting an MFE program right after undergrad, but I am unsure about my acceptance to one of the top programs. Can someone shed some light on how I stand as an applicant? My worst nightmare would be to apply to a dozen programs and not be accepted to any of them come senior year spring.

Nickeleres

To be sure it depends on the "etc." you wrote. Those programs are highly competitive. It doesn't mean that you are not a good candidate, but there are some more skilled guys with working experience who are better qualified. Try more safer programs, to be sure for admission.