• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

C++ or Python?

Hello Everyone,

I am a incoming MFE student with Bachelor’s in Commerce from India, with no coding experience ,I am interested in learning C++ and python and Before start of the program I am looking to complete a online certification course offered by quantnet, Considering my situation which quantnet course should i start off with Python or C++ ?

My main concern is that If I would jump straight into the C++ course without prior knowledge I might end up struggle to finish the course.

And I am willing to put my undivided attention into the course for atleast the next 2 months

Please provide your thoughts and suggestion on this.

Regards
Aspiring Quant

Here is an excerpt from the Python course faq:
Who is this course for?

This course is for anyone, with or without previous programming experience, who wants to learn Python. There are three categories of students who can benefit from this course:
  1. The aspiring quant or data scientist who needs to become proficient in Python for school or to do their job.
  2. The 'casual coder' (i.e. a trader on a desk, an accountant, or hobbyist) who want to learn how to quickly write useful Python scripts to help with their day to day work.
  3. The hardcore programmer who would like to learn Python.