• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Career Advice

• Thread starter Thread starter ciri
  • Start date Start date
Hi Everyone,

This is my first post. I just terminated my Bachelor in Finance w/ major in quantitative methods for finance. I have a pretty strong base in mathematics and statistics (but not at a "bachelor in math/stat" level). I graduated with 110/110 with Honors and had a GPA of approximately 3.6/4.0 with the highest grades in Math and Stat courses. During my studies I worked as an intern in the Asset Management industry in a big 4 company.

I aspire to apply for a MFE in January and in these months I'd plan to work on my programming skills and possibly find a further internship in a quant/trading/AM field.

What else should I do to maximize my chances and what advice would you give me?

What courses in math\stat did you take? Name them for us, please. Name the topics.

What languages can you code in now? If you know R, python, what packages are you very familiar with?
Of course
- General Mathematics: Differential calculus, Integral calculus, Limits, Sequences and series, Real functions, Continuous functions, Limits
- Statistics: Summary indices for univariate variables, bivariate phenomena, Sampling schemes and construction of sample random variables