• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Career in Quant Development - Accept IB Tech offer or look for Quant Dev specific jobs?

Hi, I'm wondering whether anyone can offer me some advice. I'm a fourth-year Theoretical Physicist at a top UK uni and currently have an offer from a bulge-bracket bank for Technology Application Development. I did my internship on a trading floor on the trading desk and it is likely I'd be going back to a very similar job next year (Don't know officially until next year).

However in future what I'd really like to go into is quantitative development/QR. I've seen several adverts for grad roles named 'quantitative development', however would I still be ok just going into the front-officey straight technology job? I know that straight-off its unlikely to be quantitative at all really, I just want to ensure I don't end up getting funneled into some back-office deal processing etc! Any advice brilliant, thanks.

I'm in a similar situation as you - bulge bracket entry-level application development. My impression of the firm was that they were open to having entry-level hires explore whatever it is that they wanted to do. This seemed to be true given that you'll be working on projects for the team.