• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Career switch advice

Hello Guys,
I am thinking of a career switch and would like have some advice before I take a decision about the next steps.
To give you a quick summary, I am a network engineer having ~4 years experience in IT & telecomms industry(along with Telecomms engineering degree) and currently earning £50k+ here in london working for one of the biggest networking companies in the world.

For quite some time, I am developing some interest in financial engineering/quantitaive finance and have done quite a lot of reading about this. So basically, being a computer networks engineer, this is going to be a start from scratch from the point of view of programming, investment banking & finance and mathematics.
So the questions I have are :
> I see there are multiple routes to learning this, i.e. financial engineering degree's, certificates in financial engineering etc, which path should I follow considering the fact that I am going to have start from scratch ?
> In the finance/IB world, how much the degree/accreditation of univeristy is important ? For example, if I talk about IT here in UK, employers are more interested in technical skills that the degree and as I am going to be an international student here in UK so I need to take into account higher fees for MSc programmes in universities.