• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Career Switch Advice

Hi everyone,

I'm a recent graduate (class of 2023) from a strong university (think Georgia Tech, UT Austin, UC Berkeley) studying data science with extra coursework in applied math and optimization. I'm trying to make the switch into quant trading. I graduated 2 years early at 19 with a subpar GPA, and I've been working in management in a non-finance sector at a large company since my graduation. I've been interested in finance for a few years now but have only recently begun pursuing a career in the field, seeing that it's highly intellectually stimulating and the type of work seems very interesting to me.

Lately, I've been studying Hull's book on derivatives for some time now, as well as the green book and HOTS for interview preparation, and have done a good amount of research online to find ways to get started in this field, but I haven't found anything that fits my background. Regarding research, I assist a professor in experimental psychology (no pubs yet), but a lot of it is very non-technical. What should my next step be to land an interview? I don't have any connections in the field -- would it be worth applying to mid-tier MFEs or going to quant conventions to try to network? Should I load up on projects to show interest in finance or compete in competitions? FWIW, I'm located in the Bay Area.

I would greatly appreciate any advice.