Chances of admission in CMU MSCF/Columbia MSFE

Hi Folks,

I am planning to apply for MSCF/MSFE programs in either CMU or Columbia. I know these are the best universities for MS in finance courses and lots of applicants apply for these. I have around 10 years of IT experience, all in IT divisions of Financial companies. I am a CFA charter holder, not sure if that helps in admission. I have done BS in Computer Science in India from an average university. I don't have a GPA yet as our university doesn't provide GPA in transcript. I have to probably get the GPA valuation done from some US agency. My GRE scores are Quant: 168, Verbal: 150 and AWA: 3.5. Do you think I hold a chance of admission in these courses?

Your verbal score is pretty low, but what's more concerning is that it's a sign that your personal statement may be weak. I don't think the score itself will hurt you that badly but you really need to put up a strong statement to compensate.

Perhaps not even to compensate... Your statement is a huge part of your ap! If your english a writing skills aren't that good it will be difficult to put a strong essay together.

Thanks for the advice. I will focus on writing a strong statement of purpose or essays. I will also try gre again to improve verbal score. The advantage I have for writing a good essay is that there is no time limit, which was there for verbal test.

Andy, thanks for the information. Do you think having CFA charter is going to help any way in admission process?

@Naveen, I think the verbal score isn't all that important. Firstly, it can be compensated if you have a decent TOEFL score, say 110+. Secondly, these programs will take you only after an interview (which helps them assess your english skills). There are a lot of people in the tracker with lower 150s in the verbal section who get into top programs. Point is you might want to work on other aspects of your application rather than studying for the english section of the GRE.