• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Chances of getting into a top MSCF program?

Hello all,

I'm an undergraduate student graduating with a degree in Computer Science / Minor in Mathematics from a no-name university with a 3.75 GPA. I am very interested in quantitative analysis and have been doing side projects related to finance/trading the past year. My dream is to do a top MSCF program as a way to break into the quant world, and also because the classes look like tremendous fun, but reviewing my profile makes me wonder if it's even worth trying.

Experience:
I have done two machine learning internships, one for my university and one for my state's government, and a SWE internship at CMU. I've also worked as a Systems Engineer for a DoD company for the past six months. None of this experience was related to finance at all.

Academics:
I have a lot of the recommended math courses under my belt (Calc 1 - 3, Linear Algebra, Calculus-based probability, and Statistics/ML). However, the big things I'm scared of are: some B's in math and zero finance classes.

Time to Prep:
Since I'm working full-time, the most I'll be able to do this summer/fall is prep for the GRE, take 1 - 2 finance classes, and 1 - 2 more math classes.