• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

COMPARE Columbia MA Statistics vs MA Mathematical Finance

Hi,

Im in my final year at the london sch of econ doing Math and Economics and was looking to do a master's degree.
i am currently trying to decide between stanford's MS in MS&E vs columbia's MA in Mathematical Finance or MA Statistics.

i do not intend to become a quant so that explains why i didnt go for the financial engineering courses.

after studying the programs, it seems that the MA statistics at columbia isnt very well-known. i can hardly find any references online in such forums. (maybe bcoz everyone is looking at MFin, fin math or MFE or MBA). does anyone know much about this program? any people studying at columbia right now in the MAMF must know about this 'sister' program. from what i gather from the website, it seems that i can do pretty much everything in the MAMF, or MFE and pretty much similar to any financial math masters program out there but have more flexibility to choose more electives from econ, finance, business modules which appeals to me. but my problem is how well this program is regarded in general and whether big institutions rank this program highly. or is it considered a 2nd prize after people get rejected from the MAMF. anyone know what the intake is like??