• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

COMPARE Columbia MFE vs. Stanford MSFM

I recently got accepted to both Columbia MFE and Stanford MSFM program, but I feel I need some advice on deciding which one I should accept. I have done a lot of reading around the forums, but could not get the information I am looking for.

Just to tell you a little about my background, I have a master's in EE and have been working in a fortune 500 tech company for about 3 years. I have a pretty solid academic background in both programming and math. My ideal goal is to work as a trader in NYC for a couple of years and eventually work abroad for one of the major banks.

After reading a lot around the forums, it looks like Stanford as a brand seems to be better recognized internationally, although this may not be necessarily true in the financial sector. I also read that a lot of people who graduate from the program end up working outside the US, which is something I would like to try after getting some experience in the US. Columbia on the hand has a great reputation in finance. It also seems logical to study in NYC simply due to its proximity to Wall Street.