• TIME TO 2024 UK RANKINGS

• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Do I really want to be a Quant? Am I on my way.

Hi everybody. I just stumbled upon quantnetwork and this is my first post. I am a sophomore at an Ivy league school. I'm majoring in Math modified with economics, possibly minoring in history and/or computational methods (comp sci minor concentration). Basically, I will graduate having taken high level math, micro, macro, a two term finance sequence, basic java programming and, most importatnly, two math classes that focus on arbitrage-free pricing, binomial tree models, Ito calculus, the Black-Scholes analysis, Monte Carlo simulation, pricing of equities options, hedging, stochastic calculus, Radon-Nikodym derivative and change of measure, Girsanovs theorem, the Martingale representation theorem, interest rate models (e.g, H-J-M, Ho-Lee, Vasicek, C-I-R), interest rate derivatives, interest rate trees and model calibration, and credit derivative, etc...

I'll graduate with a competative (3.5+) gpa and tend to test very strongly across the board (2320 SAT). I have some strong extracurriculars and will probably end up with 2 meaningful finance internships.

I am interested in finance, and I am evenly balanced in the humanities and hard sciences, but can handle the quantative rigor required.
I am pretty sure I can find my way into an MFE program, but I have a few questions about them and the whole career path.