• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Does it matter where I do my PhD?

I'm currently in my third year (out of four) of study as a Mathematics undergrad at Cambridge. I plan to do a PhD afterwards but I'm doubtful that I'll be admitted to one of the big four (as in the four largest and most prestigious UK mathematics departments: Cambridge, Oxford, Warwick and Imperial) and so I'll probably end up going to somewhere like Bath, Bristol or maybe Edinburgh; all good Universities and home to good faculty, but not in the same league as Oxbridge (certainly not for undergrad, anyway). If I do my PhD at one of these places, will it hurt my chances of getting a good job as a quant?

My tutors tell me that among the top ten departments in the UK, the differences in ability between PhD students are actually quite small (excluding a few rare geniuses) and if I go on to apply for an academic position then provided I write a good thesis, this won't matter particularly. This seems reasonable: althought it's rare, there are a few mathematicians working in Cambridge (which I naively interpret as meaning that they're good) who have got their doctorates from a UK but non-COWI institution; but I'm also aware that investment banking isn't academia and branding and prestige are likely to be important. Will they be suspicious of a PhD from Bath, say?