• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Doubts about Financial Engineering

Hi all,
I am a Computer Engineer from a very reputed college in India. I am very eager to learn more about finance. Right now I carry an experience of 1 year as a Software engineer in a MNC IT company. I rate myself highly in terms of Mathematical abilities and have won few national competitions also in Mathematics like the National Mathematics Olympiad. I am looking for a program where I would love to get involved with math and Advanced math but I would not prefer doing Coding and making Trading products. I would rather love to work as a Quant and do some Modelling part or as a Portfolio Manager.
Is the FE program right for me? As I can comprehend from the Baruch Website that people who come from programming background usually are absorbed in Finance industry as a Financial engineer who develop such Finance related products as a Quantitative Analyst/Programmer. Please provide answers relating whether having an experience of IT would I be exposed only to job as a product developer or can I expect to have the chance to work in core Finance oriented jobs also such as Portfolio Manager/Modeler or else since I do not carry any Finance background. I do not have any professional Finance background but I had been doing some reading and knowledge development in Finance on my own.