• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Engineering PhD student seeking a Quant career

Hi QuantNet,
I am currently an Aerospace Engineering PhD student with about a year left to graduate. I am strongly considering a career as a quant analyst/researcher. My main area of research in PhD involves implementing computational models to study mechanical behavior. I have a good programming and math background (algebra and calculus), although my statistics skills could be better. I have decent machine learning skills. My Masters and PhD is from a top 5 school for this engineering. I would like to prepare in the next few months to be a better candidate. Could you please help me find out what skills I should focus most on? Should I get into Stochastic Calculus? How much finance should I know upfront?
Thanks!

I am mainly interested in building computational models based on time series data. Also, coming up with new models based on past data, which probably comes under Quant Research.

Why then, pray tell, do you think spending most of your time on stochastic calculus would be of benefit? I think you need to read up what quants do and what the different career paths are before picking random things to study. In the broadest of terms, you seem to want to study methods of pricing in P, but for some reason you suggest studying the one thing that is basically only good for pricing in Q. I truly am puzzled.

Hi QuantNet,