• Start date Start date

Which would you choose ?

• John Hopkins MS in Finance (Free)

Votes: 9 33.3%
  • UCLA MFE (no scolarship)

Votes: 18 66.7%

• Total voters
Hi

I am an Economics undergrad. International. Applied to Masters in Finance. Received 2 offers :

1) John Hopkins MS in Finance with full tuition cover (~$64k)

Pros:
- Free
- Good location
- MBA afterwards
- Will have time to study math by myself

Cons:
- No math
- Business school holds a lower position in the rating
- No direct hedge-fund exposure --> risk to find myself in a low rated bank

2) UCLA MFE with no scolarship

Pros:
- Higher in ratings
- Orientation on hedge funds
- Will fulfill my demand for math in my life

Cons:
- Too much math which is actually related to quant finance in general rather than hedge fund`s alpha generation culture.
- Bad location to find positions on East Coast
- Costly

My idealistic goal: work in a hedge fund in NY .

The reason of my struggle between these two is that I am not a math major. I like math and study Machine Learning (use R) as a hobby. However I have no "formal" math experience except for general Linear Algebra and Calculus as part of my Economics degree. At the same time I understand that I need some math experience to be eligible to work in a hedge fund. I would choose MFE if offered the scolarship. But here the situation appears to be double-sided : On the one hand, if I choose Hopkins, I will study for free and afterwards (2-3 years of work experience) will apply to top 5 US MBAs spending the saved cash on any of them. After MBA --> to hedge fund as a manager. On the other hand, if I choose MFE, I will pay ~$100k (60+40) and will have to compete with math majors while applying to hedge funds. At the same time I will hold (if successful) very quant role with no communication with clients. I like math but I also don`t want to spend the whole day at the office without any network opportunities.