• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

How can I get Started?

Hi guys,

I am currently an undergraduate majored in Finance and Accounting from an okayyyy college (top 100 National Ranking). I've had two internships, one as an financial audit intern the other one as a client service intern at BlackRock. I can easily to be on top of my class with just a little effort (GPA 3.9+). I do understand the that having good grades from a 3rd tier school is not as competitive as having okay grades (3.3 ish) from a top school and my qualification is still too weak to apply for a top MFE program (I am thinking Baruch and UCB). I have no programing and hardcore science background, but I am very interested in those areas. I am going to do the online C++ course by Baruch to get started with programing. What else can I do to get prepared for applying MFE? Is there any online courses or even night classes available for Math? I will be working full-time for about two to three years before MFE. I still have a little bit of time, however nothing is too early to get started with. I just want some suggestions from you guys.

Most finance and accounting majors don't have the mathematics background. You could try to get as many mathematics courses in while you are still in school as you can.