• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

I am a pricing quant - what is the most helpful thing to do increase my employability? Machine Learning?!

I studied maths undergrad followed by a PhD in applied probability (optimal stopping). I currently have about 7 years experience as a quant, 1.5y in my first job (gas & power), 5y in my second job (equities) and less than a year in to my current role (gas). In my two stints as commodities quants, I got to code a lot of models in Python. Specially, in my current role, I have done some interesting least square Monte Carlo work which used ideas from existing literatures as well as my own (obviously developed from studying) However, the qualities of the team are / were average. I am currently one of the more experienced (if not the most experienced) quant in my team in term understanding derivatives pricing. Many other quants work on my quant dev-y stuff, ad hoc analysis / pricing. In my current shop, which is an energy firm, the set up is strange and outdated. There is usually not an agreed model used for pricing a particular type of products for deal structuring. This is partly due to the physical commodities products (especially long term and/or illiquid stuff) are not as straightforward as equities, but partly due to the way things worked in a lot of energy company.