Investment actuary to quant?

Hello all, first of all I would like to thank you in advance for your advice. I'm an undergrad student (majoring in Finance with a minor in econ, I started out as a physics student) at a reasonably respected state college and I've begun my path towards becoming an actuary, and I'm starting my exams. I really like the idea of becoming a quant and I think it is something I would like to pursue. The problem is there's just no way my parents and I can afford to send me to any of these amazing Phd and MFE programs I read about. What are my options here? Suck it up and work in the actuarial field then try to go back to school? Or is there a way I can take the Investment Actuary track and use that accredidation to jump ship? I would very much appreciate your input, thank you for your time.

I don't know your background but strong math is needed as a quant.

And depending on where you live you may need to relocate for a MFE or even a job in finance anyway.

While you shouldn't pursue a PhD for the sole purpose/plan of becoming a quant, many PhD programs fully fund their students.

Working while you prepare for a MFE or quant job is not a bad option, but from my limited understanding the actuarial exams take many years. For some reason I have 5-7 years in my head, hopefully someone else can correct me.

For some reason I have 5-7 years in my head, hopefully someone else can correct me.

That's correct (on average), although some can do it in 2-3 years.

The associate level exams (P, FM, MFE, MLC, C) require a similar level of mathematics that a student finishing the first semester or two of Quant courses (at least based on Baruch's curriculum) will have (I have taken the first two exams, and studied for the 3rd).