• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Is GRE AWA 3.0 hopeful?

Hi guys,
I am a undergraduate student from Taiwan, planning to apply tier 1 MFE program in USA.
Of course English is not my native language, so I only scored 3.0 in my GRE AWA. (V:620, Q:800)
I want to know whether this below-average score would significantly matter when applying the MFE program.

Besides my bad AWA score,
I think that everything is okay since I took lots of relevant courses, GPA 3.8, and related intern experinece.
Oh, I haven't taken TOEFL exam.
Can I just prove my English writing ability by TOEFL exam?

Thanks for your precios answer.

Best regards.

I'm going to give you some peek into how this would work inside the admission office

If you apply to programs that conduct personal interviews, English language is one of the most important skills they want to access. Those programs are Baruch, CMU, UCB, Princeton, etc

For those programs, if you have great profile but low AWA as the only flaw in your application, your chance of getting an interview is very good.

Now the second set of programs that don't conduct interviews (Columbia, NYU, the rest), they will use everything in your application to best gauge your English skill.

You don't study in an English speaking institution, which means you will have to take the TOEFL and do well. 100-110 is par and you should try for 110+.