• COUNTDOWN TO 2024 UK RANKINGS

• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Is my background sufficient to get into an MFE program?

Hello,
I am interested in applying to MFE programs for the fall of 2012; however, I am not sure if my background is sufficient to get into an MFE program. Can someone critique my background and suggest areas of improvement?
Bachelor’s in Mathematics from a top 15 U.S. university
3.62/4.00 Overall GPA
3.68/4.00 Math GPA
Courses taken: 3 courses on calculus including multivariate calculus, differential equations, matrix algebra, probability, 3 courses on statistics including mathematical statistics, biostatistics (used R) and statistical computation (used SAS)
Programming skills: taken courses in MATLAB, SAS, R, however my knowledge of these programs is weak since I only took one class in each and have not used these programs since I graduated 2 years ago. Since I started working, I have taught myself VBA and have become proficient. I have no experience with C++.
Currently, I am working at a fixed income asset management firm as a consultant. Some analytical work is involved but I do not use heavy technical skills characteristic of a quant every day. I try to find projects that I can write code for to streamline reports (and I have). Despite the lack of quant skills in my job, I am building my knowledge of the fixed income markets.