• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

COMPARE Master of financial economics versus Master of financial and actuarial engineering

Hello,

I am a computer engineer from Belgium. I have recently gotten interested in quant trading and am now thinking about following a finance related masters program. Ideally I would like to keep working at least part time during this endeaver.

I have taken a look at some curriculums of local universities and I would like some feedback on the following 2 programs, if possible:

http://onderwijsaanbod.kuleuven.be/2013/opleidingen/e/SC_51016799.htm#bl=01,02,03,0301,0302
and

http://onderwijsaanbod.kuleuven.be/opleidingen/e/SC_51016921.htm#bl=02,03,04

For now I want to study the courses out of personal interest, but later on I might be interested in a full career switch to a more quant oriented job (ideally, it would be in the field of quantitative trading).

The first masters does not seem to be a masters in financial engineering but a masters in financial economics. What is the actual difference between the two? The curriculum looks interesting to me, but I was wondering if it provides a deep enough quantitative coverage from a quant career perspective? The second master in "financial and actuarial engineering" seems more deeply quant oriented but I am personally not interested in the insurance related stuff. It does not seem to be to the point from a pure finance point of view.