• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Math requirement for MFE programs

Hello,

Apologies for a long post.

I am seeking some advice regarding my decision to do a financial Mathematics course.

My background:
I'm an engineering graduate working as a Senior C++ programmer for the last 10 years. I have been working in the finance industry (FX, Futures etc) for the last 5 years. Most of my programming has been spent on building tools that process the trades, price feeds etc. Now, I would like to be involved in designing the models and coding them. I wish to upgrade my skills and I wish to become a quant developer. Hence my interest in doing a MSc in Financial Mathematics.

My current situation:
Due to my background, I am adept at C++ programming and hence I'm confident about the programming knowledge required to be a quant developer. I want to do the course to improve my skills in the mathematics and finance components. It has been more than 10 years since I did Mathematics. But I'm fairly strong in my mathematics concepts (and scored well in my undergraduate Math course) and I'm very confident in picking them up again. I recently did a self-test from a sample test available at Warwicks which allows us to gauge where we stand with our Math knowledge. It did not go well as I have forgotten most of it.

So to summarise -
Math - Rusty but confident of picking it up given some time.