• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Rutgers MSMF mathematical finance in rutgers

Hi, I'm a new comer here. I have some trouble choosing between the two options. I saw a lot of valuable information here. Maybe you guys can help me to decide. Let me introduce myself a bit first, I was a medical student in China, now major in Bioengineering in one of the UC schools. Going to quit my PhD and change to Stat or MFE pertaining to my personal interest. I had good academic records in math but I haven't touched it for 5 years! I interned in Bain & Company, failed in an M&A case during the recruitment interview, thus, determined to equip myself with more knowledge before I try it again. So far I got two admissions, and considering I don't have much working experience or sufficiency in math or finance, job opportunities may not be optimistic for me if i graduate from Rutgers U, while master of Stat from Cornell U may not secure a job either. Anyone has some insider's view about my options? thanks a lot!

Let me put it in a clearer format about the two admissions:

Cornell Statistics MPS: Program Ranking 6th nationa wide for Statistics; Year to finish 1year; Cost per year for tuition $34,600; Program Difficulty Handable; Location 4hrs drive to NYC; Applications: Finance, Pharm, Biotech, Industrial Research; Values in the program Broad but not professional