• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

MFE Questions

Hi guys,

I am currently a last year undergraduate accounting student. I am interesting in the MFE program. Although I have a lot of finance knowledge (fixed income management, derivatives, etc.), I don't have sufficient math skills for the program. What is the best way to upgrade my math and programming knowledge? Is it worth to take a second undergraduate degree of math or cs?

Btw, I want to have a job in quantitative asset management, such as portfolio analyst. Is MFE enough for the job, or I should consider to take a PhD?

Thanks.

Well, a good starting point for a request for advice would be to tell us what exactly you mean by "I don't have sufficient math skills". Does that mean you got a C in calc1 or does it mean that you're not sure if you are qualified for an MFE because stochastic calculus wasn't offered at your university?

This also heavily depends on the programs you are trying to gain admission to, and, for example, if they offer refresher seminars in mathematics which may help you fill in the holes in your understanding.