• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Morgan Stanley Phone Interview

I'm an MSOR student at Columbia, and just got a notification of telephone interview with MS, quantitative finance program next week. The position typically hire PhD/MFE, I don't even know why they contacted me. I know there is ulikely opportunity for me to get this position but I still want to do my best and show the best of me.

I want to know what can I expect on the telephone interview with them? I was told that the interview will last about 30-45 mins including maths/brain teaser/finance questions. I want to know how deep will they test on maths and finance. I'm familiar with equity and fixed income markets. Regarding maths, I took courses on stochastic, optimization and I finished reading the Concepts and Practice of Mathematical Finance by Mark Joshi, but I can only solve half of the problems in another book Quant Job Interview Questions&Ansers by him, and also read shreve's stochastic calculus.

Why they don't ask questions on programming? Maybe not in phone interview but later?

What else should I read and do to get prepared? (too many? :) )

Thank you guys so much. Waiting for your replies and suggestions.