• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Ms Statistics concerning about jobs outlook

Hi all,

I am currently a masters student in statistics at Stanford. I mostly study statistical learning (quite rigorously), and will take few courses on classical finance math with basic measure theory stochastic calculus including implied volatility.

Due to having no experience. I have following concern about the jobs outlook for statisticians:

1. There are how many types of quantitative traders? And which types are suitable for statisticians?
2. Which fields in finance use a lot of statistics?
3. If I apply for my first job for example at Goldman Sachs, which department I should apply for if I want to become a trader?
4. What is the jobs outlook for statisticians in Singapore and Hong Kong?

(Since I have no experience, sorry if my questions sound naive or overlap)

Thanks much!