• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Need Some Direction

First time posting on this site, although I've been reading a bit over here. Spend quite a bit more time on one of the other big finance sites, although it's heavily IB-focused over there so I feel I might get a bit more advice over here. Sorry for the length.

I'm a student about to graduate from a very small liberal arts college with a finance degree. If I had known that the absolute worst degree to get in order to break into either S&T or prop trading was finance I would have switched to Econ or math (or even physics) early on. But, it's too late for that.

I am trying to figure out what the best course of action might be in order to put myself in a position to break into the industry. I know occasionally we all know the story of the guy who cold-called some MD whose number he scraped off the sidewalk every day until he got a job, but to put it in statistical terms, that's like a 2 or 3 sigma event. It's not something you can count on at all.

I have a complete list of about every finance firm in the city, and am planning to either cold call or cold email or try to make a contact at every firm I can until I network myself into something. In addition, I have a couple conversations going right now that might turn out to be helpful. I am not counting on that however.